sky lavender and cornerless

no cambridge ladies here

Friday Reads! …it’s still Friday in California

with 5 comments

Okay, actually, I’ve been terrible and indulged in Angry Birds and blogs and other nonsense (downloaded Spotify on my phone, which is a surprisingly good music player!) rather than reading books today. Nevertheless, I’m going to start a new tradition, which is to tell you what books I have waiting for me in various places.

IN MY PURSE:

I’ve loved the English folktale Mr. Fox (a variation on the Robber Bridegroom) ever since I read Neil Gaiman’s fantastically chilling short story, “The White Road“. So when I learned that Helen Oyeyemi, whose Icarus Girl I read and loved years ago, had written a story using that tale as a jumping board, I had to get it immediately. By which I mean, open up a tab and place a hold at the Brooklyn Public Library without delay. I started reading it two days before it was due, which was stupid, because someone else had it on hold and I couldn’t renew it. BUT! The NYPL had copies on the shelf at the Mid-Manhattan library, so I managed to make a quick library-run after work, before book club, on Wednesday. It’s fantastic so far, I will probably spend much of tomorrow reading it.

ON MY NIGHTSTAND:

From top to bottom, left to right: Gail Carriger’s Changeless (borrowed, to be read), Thea Harrison’s Storm’s Heart (read) and Serpent’s Kiss (to be read), Heist Society by Ally Carter (library book, to be read, renewed 3 times), Guy DeLisle’s Burma Chronicles and Shenzhen (to be read; library books, renewed 3 times, also took out Pyongyang at the same time and honestly wasn’t that impressed by it, hence why I’ve been dragging my feet on reading these).

Dragon Bound, again by Thea Harrison (read!), The Truth About Forever (to be read; I had lent this to a friend – ditto Dragon Bound – and by the time I got them back, their places on the bookshelf had been taken up, so here they sit), an ARC of Marissa Meyer’s Cinder (borrowed, to be read; I started this at Christmas, but wasn’t in the mood), My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me, ed. Kate Bernheimer (mostly read, my pick for book club).

George Eliot’s Middlemarch (currently reading), the free annotated listing of the Penguin Classics (nerd), the Doctor Who novel Wish You Weren’t Here by James Goss (to be read, part of my Very Doctor Who Christmas from the boyfriend this year), an ARC of Kristin Cashore’s Bitterblue (to be read, DON’T MURDER ME BECAUSE I DIDN’T READ IT IMMEDIATELY I’ve been in a slump, I’m sorry), an ARC of Joelle Charbonneau’s Skating Around the Law (to be read,  it looks cute and I’m super excited for her Murder for Choir series), Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness (borrowed, to be read; I’m dreading it because the first two books were so brutal).

ON HOLD AT THE LIBRARY:

The Winter Prince, by Elizabeth E. Wein, placed today after learning that her books are very similar to Megan Whalen Turner’s.

Will Super Villains Be on the Final?, by Naomi Novik. This is actually the second time I’ve placed this on hold, because the first time, when I went to pick it up (along with Mr. Fox and the January book club pick, Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother), it was not there. Somebody took it! Or there was an error. Probably someone took it though, from the hold shelf. Grr. Anyway, this came recommended to me by Shoshana, and I love superpowered schools, so I’m excited.

And that’s that! Tune in next week! This will actually force me to tidy up my nightstand weekly, so it’s not the same old books on there every week. Hurray!

Written by Emily G.

January 28, 2012 at 12:38 am

Posted in books

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mr. Fox is a great folktale I hope the book is amazing.

    bibliopirate

    January 28, 2012 at 1:14 am

  2. Lawd, you’re like me. Nice pile of books there. Should we expect some mini reviews soon?

    Lakeshan

    January 28, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    • Haha, maybe! I’m terrible at reviewing books, usually, but maybe next week I’ll give an update on what I’ve managed to read and write a few lines. 🙂

      Emily G.

      January 28, 2012 at 1:15 pm

  3. Hi – new to your blog but found you b/c I’m always scouring around for good books – and then I found that you compared something to Megan Whalen Turner, so now I have to come back here regularly. Sometimes I think I’m the only person in the world who has read & loved those Attolia books (although the fourth one suffered a bit, I think). Rumor has it that a film is “in development” (file under: famous last words). I daydream sometimes thinking about who would play Gen…
    Do you know the books by Ariana Franklin, I think her name is, set in the middle ages, with a character who knows forensic science (rudimentarily, of course) – like a cross between CSI and Wolf Hall. They’re detective stories – quite good & the history is well done. Thanks for all the good ideas.

    deborah l quinn

    August 22, 2012 at 9:01 am

    • Thanks for the comment! I never knew that about the film, actually… very interesting.

      I actually downloaded MISTRESS OF THE ART OF DEATH onto my nook at a friend’s recommendation a while ago — good to have corroborating support! I can’t wait to read it.

      Emily G.

      September 2, 2012 at 8:27 pm


Leave a Reply

